House

Paint me in red, blacks, and purple hues
Tell them all how I murdered you in our home
Show them where I painted your name in red
Except my brush was only dipped in blood, and it was mine
Not your name, but a boldly written
“Help Me.”

An asylum full of tears
False hope, and hollowed screams
You thought you’d found a coward under all this skin
Turns out I’d bathe in blood, if it gave me some peace
I bottled up your screams, I’m not afraid of them anymore
The sweetest lullabies are never whispered

We stalked through our halls with leashes, and chains
Who made us think that we could control energy?
I sucked out my soul, and placed it on a platter
Dipped it in ashes, while I smoked out my sins
While we shed the skins of who we once were
Can’t hold on to anything.

They say the home is where the heart is
And we had ours both nailed on the mantle
They never stopped dripping, not once
Pour the blood in my coffee while I get drunk on the image
Of the word they call, Love
Part of me is never getting out of this house.

 

-Damaged_Luna

Leave a comment